Freedom Japanese Market Review October 2016

Freedom Japanese Market Review October 2016

Time for a food break in between all the beauty! Freedom Japanese Market kindly sent me another of their Japanese snack subscription boxes to review. You can see my previous review Here and you can also read my review on their Fukubukuro Box too.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016Freedom Japanese Market October 2016Freedom Japanese Market October 2016 Freedom Japanese Market October 2016 Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

As you can tell October’s box was overflowing with snacks and candy, oh and let’s not forget the cute little origami ghost too! That’s always such a nice personal touch, I believe Sanae painstakingly makes every single one of these herself, just to place in the boxes!

The box was packed so carefully and as usual, absolutely no wastage of space to be seen.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016 Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

The first snack I tried was these Cabbage Taro. Trust me, there was no cabbage to be seen or tasted in these tasty corn puffs.  I believe it’s actually seaweed and Japanese sauce that gives these corn puffs their flavour. I do like corn puffs and these were really nice, the flavour was pretty subtle in them.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016Freedom Japanese Market October 2016 Freedom Japanese Market October 2016 Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

Let me introduce you to a Giant Capilco. This is a strawberry chocolate shaped ice cream, with milk chocolate in the center, all in a delicious crispy wafer cone. It actually does taste like strawberry ice-cream too. This one surprised me because I am so fussy about chocolate and thought it might not taste that nice BUT it was really lovely. The chocolate is light and aerated as you can see from all the bubbles. Very much like Aero. Really nice sweet snack.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

Yokai Watch Gum comes in 4 flavours, apple, grape, orange and soda. You can mix up the flavours of the gum to give you totally new flavours. These gums have a really nice fruity taste and it’s fun to mix them together.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

Suppai Mucho are a rather unique flavour of crisps. These potato crisps are actually sour plum flavour. Sour plum? Yes, sour plum! They’re really nice and crispy and they kinda reminded me of the tangy flavour of prawn cocktail crisps here in the UK.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

Yaoya-San is a cute little D.I.Y kit to make your own fruit and vegetable shaped candy. You simply press the candy into the moulds and then pop them out. Easy peasy! Definitely the simplest DIY candy kit I’ve come across to date.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

This Fluffy Marshmallow is actually an extra bonus item. Pretty pastel coloured marshmallow twist. It’s soft and sweet and if you like marshmallow you will love this. I’m not a huge fan of marshmallow; it’s not the flavour, just the texture biting into it and when it’s in my mouth. I know.. I’m weird lol

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016 Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

There is even an instant ramen cup in October’s box in the shape of this Buta-Men. It contains pork and has a spicy curry flavour. Just add hot water to it and you’re good to go. A quick and easy hot snack any time of the day.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016 Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

These Kame Taro rice crackers are in the shape of turtle shells. They are very crispy and light and have a sweet soy sauce taste to them. Very tasty savoury snack.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016Umaibo – Tasty, light crispy tube of puffed corn in various flavours. One of these is pizza flavour (on the right) and I’m not sure what the other flavour is, possibly cheese? Regardless they are really nice and flavourful. It’s great to see them in the Freedom Japanese Market box.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016 Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

Now, I have to confess that I didn’t try these Gari-Bori Ramen because they are Garlic flavoured and I HATE Garlic. To me these smelt really strongly of it too. I was assured they were very crispy texture wise and most definitely had a very strong Garlic taste. If you love Garlic I am sure you would love these garlic flavoured ramen crisps.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

Two of the smaller items were this Kuro-Be Gum. This is a black gum which will colour your tongue black. I was to chicken to try this one for fear it would be licorice flavour because I don’t like licorice and it would have been a shame to waste it.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016Freedom Japanese Market October 2016 Freedom Japanese Market October 2016 Freedom Japanese Market October 2016  Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

These adorable little candies are Monster Stamps, quite apt for the October box with Halloween at the time. There is a green witch and a blue and purple ghost stamp candy. You simply lick them and then you can stamp them. I stamped the back of my hand. The ghost one came out quite well, though the witch one was a little blurry. What surprised me was how well they printed colour-wise. The transfer was pretty impressive for candy. It’s great to get seasonal and limited edition snacks and candy like these in the Freedom Japanese Market box.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

I’ve put these last 3 candies together in one photo as they look lost on their own lol

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

How cute are these pretty little Konpelto. They are just colourful sugar candies; dainty and sweet.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016 Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

I am partial to a gummy candy and these Frog Eyes were really yummy. I tried the bottom one, which was cola flavoured. It always amazes just how much flavour Japanese candy like this has. It’s usually very intense. Just a really nice soft gummy candy.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

I can’t go without giving a nod to this cute Ghost origami. As mentioned above, each and every one of these is personally handmade by Sanae. Too cute! It just shows how much effort and work goes into every box to provide the best experience possible.

Overall Thoughts


The Freedom Japanese Market really does provide a great variety of savoury and candy snacks in each of their boxes. You get an information sheet that tells you what each item is and a brief description too.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

There is sure to be something that everyone will like in this Freedom Japanese Market box. Whether you love savoury or you have a sweet tooth, this box will satisfy your snack craving.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016 Freedom Japanese Market October 2016 Freedom Japanese Market October 2016 Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

Plus, you get so much in one box, unless you snack 24/7 this box should last quite a while. The best bit is that it’s delivered to your door and you get to try out snacks from another country.

Freedom Japanese Market October 2016 Freedom Japanese Market October 2016

If you’re looking to try a Japanese snack subscription I definitely recommend trying Japanese Freedom Market out!

Freedom Japanese Market have also updated their website recently and moved platforms which means the following now applies:-

  • Free Shipping Worldwide
  • All products are shipped fresh from Japan.  These items have never seen the inside of a container ship.
  • Most of the items are sold exclusively in Japan.  Also, most boxes contain some limited edition snacks and candies that are only in Japanese stores for a month or two.  Note: The “Made for foreign market” versions of these products sold in most Asian markets are usually made in third-party countries, and shipped in container ships to different parts of the world.
  • An itemised list with pictures is included in each box, so you don’t have to read Japanese. 
  • About a pound of candy and snacks are packed into each box. 
  • We only ship products we would eat ourselves, and only send boxes we would be happy to receive as a gift.
  • Now you have a choice between using PayPal, and purchasing directly through your own credit card. 
  • Checkout is all on one page and can be completed in less than 10 minutes.
  • You can now create 1, 3, 6 and 12 month plans to fit your needs. 
  • Longer plans receive larger per-box discounts.
  • You can create a personal account that allows you to cancel or update your subscription at any time.
  • You can now add EMS shipping (5 to 7 day service with International tracking) on any size of box.  If you need your package in a hurry, this is a great option.
  • Club members can buy additional boxes and send them (to other addresses) as gifts.  Some companies use these boxes as corporate gifts or thank you packages for hard-working employees.  You can also get all of your holiday shopping done quickly this way!
  • You can create a gift subscription that sends a monthly care package to a friend or relative.
  • You can create a one-time payment for boxes sent out over 3, 6 and 12 months.  This is perfect for our German customers who have PayPal systems that do not allow online subscriptions. http://www.freedomjapanesemarket.com/subscription-box-3-6-and-12-month-packages.html#.Vc4tBGAbBBw
  • Cancel at any time without fees or penalties.

There are several different subscription options available to you.

  • Puchi Pack – A mini version of the original subscription box. This smaller taste of Japan includes 5 to 8 Japanese snacks for only $12.99 a month. Free Shipping Worldwide!
  • Original Subscription Pack – Each box contains 12 to 16 full size and sample snacks, shipped directly from Japan for only $24.99 a month. Free Shipping Worldwide!
  • Family Pack – Double the snacks of the regular box so you can share with your family, office, or snack group. The $45.99 price includes Free International Shipping!

Alternatively you could order a one-off sample box to try or send one as a gift.

You can check out a full list of their services HERE.

Where Can I subscribe to Freedom Japanese Market?


If you add my blogs name ‘BOXNIP’ to the order notes when ordering, you will receive a free bonus candy in your first Freedom Japanese Market box.

Freedom Japanese Market – Website

Amazon Store – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01H36X4YW

Social Media


Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Google+ | Youtube

Share:
DISCLAIMER:  This box was sent to me free for review purposes. All opinions are 100% my own and 100% honest and have not been influenced in any way.
  • Adele Miner

    Ah I really wanna try these, they look so good! You have a really lovely blog here, you should be proud! x

    adelelydia.blogspot.com

    • Thank you so much for your comment! 😀 Yes, they are really fab snacks. 😀